Building structures underground

I think the ability to build structures underground (parking, bus stops, fuel, etc) would greatly expand the flexibility of certain airport designs.

Last time I checked some of it was possible. I’ve been putting car parkings, service parking lots, bus & car stops underground on -1 and -2 just fine. I always try to conserve space on the ground level for as much as I can for the airplanes.

2 Likes

maybe multi-level parking would be good.

3 Likes

I know that only fuel and airport vehicle depots cannot be placed underground, but everything else should have the ability to.

1 Like

Also catering depots and the rubbish bin depots can’t be placed underground (I forgot the name lol)

1 Like

Thanks for the reply - I’m new to the game but the couple things I had tried hadn’t worked. I’ll test more exhaustively and check back here. I do feel, as commented below, that parking, especially vehicle depots, should be able to be placed underground. They are commonly there in the real world.

Cheers.

Depots no I don’t think they would go underground. However, parking spaces for the airside vehicles, they do work underground. I make use of them extensively.

1 Like

You actually require only 1 vehicle depot on the ground for the whole airport whatever big it is. I put only one next to GA stands when starting out and never build another one, but all other are service car parking lots, which can be placed underground, whether on -1 or -2, e.g. right under stands, next to underground baggage bay, etc. (but note that starting from Alpha 34 you need first to get a permit to build on other floors).

1 Like

Me too.
I’d also like to stack them overground to build parking garages (as I mentioned before elsewhere but am too lazy now to search for it and it would make much sense to link there anyway as I just said there the same I said here… just shorter maybe)